Book #29: Justice Calling by Annie Bellet

Gamer. Nerd. Sorceress.

Jade Crow lives a quiet life running her comic book and game store in Wylde, Idaho. After twenty-five years fleeing from a powerful sorcerer who wants to eat her heart and take her powers, quiet suits her just fine. Surrounded by friends who are even less human than she is, Jade figures she’s finally safe.

As long as she doesn’t use her magic.

When dark powers threaten her friends’ lives, a sexy shape-shifter enforcer shows up. He’s the shifter world’s judge, jury, and executioner rolled into one, and he thinks Jade is to blame. To clear her name, save her friends, and stop the villain, she’ll have to use her wits… and her sorceress powers.

Except Jade knows that as soon as she does, a far deadlier nemesis awaits.

Justice Calling is the first book in The Twenty-Sided Sorceress urban fantasy series. Readers who enjoyed The Dresden Files or The Iron Druid Chronicles will likely enjoy this series.

Justice Calling was another one of those Kindle books turned upgrade for audio. I have been doing that a lot lately because I have so many Kindle books and I figure this will help lessen the TBR list.

What got me interested with this is the title. I mean, come on, The Twenty-Sided Sorceress?! As a tabletop gamer and lover of geekhood, I went ahead for this. I love books and movies that poke fun while still pay homage to gaming. References, spells, the works.

This book was . . . okay. There wasn’t much in geek reference that got my geek going. There were mentions that Jade used gaming spells as her own spells. Not sure how she was able to do that, but the concept is cool if you are trying to teach yourself magic.

What didn’t really grab me was the excess of shifters. I understand a town full of magical folk, and that doesn’t bother me, but why does every animal have a human shifting counterpart? It’s just a personal pet peeve of mine. At least there are no elves. I hate elves.

Anyway, the writing was good. It is a quick book and did grab me until the end. The mystery was also well done. I honestly didn’t see it coming the way it did. Especially with the first body found. That was well done.

I would have liked a bit more magic and action, but given the circumstances Jade was going through, I can understand. This book was a great way to introduce a hesitant heroine and bring her out into the limelight. Would I read the second book?

Maybe. I’m not completely sold on the series itself, but the book was decent enough.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s