Book #97: The Carrot Man by Theo

When a 30-year-old neurotic Swede moves into a filthy apartment — he gets the shock of a lifetime: his roommate is a carrot. 

Not the kind you shred and put in a salad with peppers and onions. No, but a real life, living, human carrot — the saggy kind. 

As his own depression spirals out of control, he starts hating his roommate for being everything he’s becoming. 
Lazy. 
Ugly. 
Broke. 
A human vegetable. 

Dishes build up in the kitchen. The bathroom looks like a garbage dump. And the mailbox? Doesn’t even have his name on it! And the cherry on top of the cake is that his roommate will not, under any circumstances whatsoever, take out the garbage. 

This bothers him to no end and he develops elaborate plans to force his roommate to act. He fills up the garbage bag with smelly things and goes for “mini-vacations” to his ex’s house. 

When even this fails he snaps — his roommate is about to become the last ingredient in a giant batch of carrot soup. 

THE CARROT MAN is an existential comedy in the vein of Dostoyevsky’s NOTES FROM UNDERGROUND and Salinger’s THE CATCHER IN THE RYE. 
WARNING: This story contains offensive language, premises and jokes.

I received a copy of this book from the author for an honest review. All that follows is my opinion. I was not compensated for this review.

The Carrot Man is a dark comedy short story/novella. I say short story/novella because the story itself is 84 pages. It’s too long for a short story, but not quite long enough for a novella. The fact that it is 84 pages is good. It’s short, quick, and something to read on a train ride or something like that.

I personally, didn’t quite care for the story. It is the main character himself I don’t care for.  I found him to be full of himself and just too much. I did giggle at some of the humor in the main character, but there are times that I didn’t find it all that funny. I actually felt bad for the main character and his roommate. For different reasons, but there was pity for both.

That said, I can see how some people would find the story funny. I just know now that it wasn’t funny to me. For the quickness of it, I would say it is worth a try. You may find yourself laughing the whole time. The book just wasn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s