Blog Tour (Review): The Sisters of Reckoning by Charlotte Nicole Davis

ASIN ‏ : ‎ B08GZXVXXL
Publisher ‏ : ‎Tor Teen (August 10, 2021)
Publication date ‏ : ‎ August 10, 2021
Language ‏ : ‎ English

 
Praise for THE SISTERS OF RECKONING
 

Featured in Teen Vogue

“Populated by a unique and diverse collection of characters that you will immediately fall in love with, this is a novel that will make you think, make you feel, and make you cry out, ‘glory to the reckoning’.” ―Lauren Shippen, author of The Infinite Noise: A Bright Sessions Novel

“Davis has a knack for effortlessly tying in character development to the fast-moving plot. Readers will enjoy meeting and continuing to get to know the diverse cast[.] This book is hard to put down and readers will be inspired by its ending…Perfect for fans of Snowpiercer and Firefly.” ―School Library Journal

 

The Sisters of Reckoning is the blockbuster sequel to Charlotte Nicole Davis’s alternate Old West-set commercial fantasy adventure.

The Good Luck Girls are free. Aster’s sister and friends have new lives across the border in Ferron, while Aster remains in Arketta, helping more girls escape. But news of a new welcome house opening fills Aster with a need to do more than just help individual girls. And an unexpected reunion gives her an idea of how to do it. From there, grows a wildly ambitious plan to free all dustbloods, who live as prisoners to Arketta’slandmasters and debt slavery.

When Clementine and the others return from Ferron, they become the heart of a vibrant group of fearless fighters, working to unite the various underclasses and convince them to join in the fight. Along the way, friendships will be forged, lives will be lost, and love will take root even in the harshest of circumstances, between the most unexpected of lovers.

But will Arketta’sdustbloods finally come into power and freedom, or will the resistance just open them up to a new sort of danger?

You can purchase The Sisters of Reckoning at the following Retailers:
       
I received a copy of The Sisters of Reckoning for an honest review. What follows is my opinion and mine alone. There was no compensation for this review.
To say I squealed with joy when I saw there was a sequel is an understatement. To say I jumped at the chance to review this book is not. I am sorry to say I didn’t jump. It wasn’t that I didn’t want to, it’s just that it’s hard to when you are in the middle of moving large car parts around, which is what I do for my day job. Nonetheless, the excitement over this book and reading about The Good Luck Girls is strong.
The Sisters of Reckoning begins roughly a year after the events of The Good Luck Girls. Aster is working with the Lady Ghosts, saving one Good Luck Girl at a time, while Clementine and the others are in Ferron. When word gets out that McClennon, the landmaster who runs the show in Arketta, is setting up a new Welcome House in Northrock and lowering the Lucky Night to a girl’s thirteenth year, Aster decides enough is enough and she isn’t going down without a fight. Someone is going to burn.
I’m unsure if I mentioned just how much I loved The Good Luck Girls. It deals with heavy subjects such as oppression, human trafficking, and non-consensual sexual acts on young women (that is what a Lucky Night is). These aren’t subjects depicted in YA fiction, not usually at least, and here is a book that had them with a dark Wild West-like fantasy setting. The Sisters of Reckoning bring back those subject matters and expands on them tenfold.
Charlotte Nicole Davis has expertly written a sequel that is quite possibly better than its predecessor. There is more depth in the world, the concepts of society, and the raveners (the people used to hunt down dustbloods). The women are strong and their relationships with each other. It was great relating to each of the characters again and meeting new ones, each one bringing a new facet into the narrative.
The pacing for this book is strong, the action is there, and yes, you will find some love. But, most of all, there is a passion for freedom and the downfall of a system that is built to fail its people. If you read this book, emotions are going to rise and you are going to see a correlation between Arketta and the world today.
Dare I say it, I feel Davis is one of the more relevant authors of today. You are going to want to read this and The Good Luck Girls.
Photo Credit: Brett Pruitt

Charlotte Nicole Davis is the author of The Good Luck Girls, a young adult fantasy novel releasing in Fall 2019 with Tor Teen. A graduate of The New School’s Writing for Children MFA program, Charlotte loves comic book movies and books with maps in the front. She currently lives in Brooklyn with a cat with a crooked tail.

      
WEEK ONE
AUGUST 9th MONDAY JeanBookNerd INTERVIEW
AUGUST 10th TUESDAY BookHounds YA INTERVIEW
AUGUST 11th WEDNESDAY TTC Books and More EXCERPT
AUGUST 12th THURSDAY Kait Plus BooksINTERVIEW 
AUGUST 12th THURSDAY Ya It’s Lit REVIEW
AUGUST 13th FRIDAY Movies, Shows, & Books EXCERPT
AUGUST 13th FRIDAY A Bookish Dream REVIEW
WEEK TWO
AUGUST 16th MONDAY A Dream Within A Dream REVIEW
AUGUST 17th TUESDAY Casia’s Corner REVIEW
AUGUST 18th WEDNESDAY Insane About Books REVIEW
AUGUST 18th WEDNESDAY StaciaLovesToRead REVIEW
AUGUST 19th THURSDAY My Fictional Oasis REVIEW
AUGUST 20th FRIDAY The Bookwyrm’s Den REVIEW
AUGUST 20th FRIDAY J.R.’s Book Reviews REVIEW
 
*JBN is not responsible for Lost or Damaged Books in your Nerdy Mail Box*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s