Blog Tour (Review): Eyes of the Forest by April Henry

Eyes of the Forest
April Henry
Published by: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication date: August 24th 2021
Genres: Mystery, Young Adult

After a bestselling fantasy writer disappears, only his biggest fan believes he’s in danger. Instead of re-reading his books, she must venture into the real world to uncover the truth in this fast-paced mystery by New York Times-bestselling author April Henry. For readers of Courtney Summers and Karen McManus.

Bridget is RM Haldon’s biggest fan. She and her mom sought refuge in Haldron’s epic fantasy series Swords and Shadows while her mom was losing her battle with cancer. When Bridget met Haldon at one of his rare book signings, she impressed the author with her encyclopedic knowledge of the fantasy world he’d created. Bridget has been working for him ever since as he attempts to write the final book in his blockbuster sword and sorcery series. But Haldon has gone missing, and Bridget is the only person who seems concerned. Can Bridget piece together Haldon’s cryptic clues and save him before it’s too late?

Master mystery-writer April Henry weaves another heart-stopping young adult thriller in this story that seamlessly blends suspense with an exploration of fan culture.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

I received a free copy for an honest review. What follows is my opinion and mine alone. There was no compensation for this review.

I wasn’t sure what I was expecting when I started reading this book, but I’m going to say it wasn’t this.

Eyes of the Forest is a YA thriller that has YA contemporary romance braided into the narrative. It has a multiple POV that has you wondering when they will collide, but at times can be distracting. I’m going to say this is a personal thing though. I tend to have trouble with multi-POVs over two or three. This book has four: Bridget, Bob, Ajay, and Derrick. They are connected in the beginning because they all live in the same area and some lives overlap with the others. That said, they do not fully collide until around the halfway mark.

This may make you wonder if the pacing is good, but I feel Henry did a great job with that. I only put down the book because I had some heart palpitations when it came to Bob and his struggles. So, if you aren’t affected by it like I was, this book easily be a single sitting read.

Though there were times that the book seemed to have two different genres, it wasn’t too distracting. It only was in one Ajay chapter for me, but it did help me understand the character more and I like that.

All in all, the book is well written and an easy one day read. It may have your heart pumping at times too. I would recommend this for anyone looking for just a good enjoying read.

Author Bio:

April Henry is the New York Times bestselling author of many acclaimed mysteries for adults and young adults, including the YA novels Girl, Stolen; The Girl I Used to Be, which was nominated for an Edgar Award; The Night She Disappeared; and Body in the Woods and Blood Will Tell, Books One and Two in the Point Last Seen series. She lives in Oregon.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

Hosted by:

XBTBanner1

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour (Review): Eyes of the Forest by April Henry”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s