Book #78: Sticky Fingers 2 by

Diverse, dark-humored, and deliciously bite-sized: JT Lawrence ratchets up the tension with this compelling collection of short stories perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Roald Dahl.

GATSBY’S DOUBLE

An artist’s Pomeranian has been replaced by an imposter.

COURT, MARRY, KILL

Whose body ends up being unzipped by fish on the ocean floor?

ROCKABYE BABY

A female-only cult has a very dark side.

HE DID IT

A detective relies on his gut (and his hallucinations) to help him solve murder cases.

THE BRAIN BLEACHER

He can remove your pain by hacking your memory, but his own suffering is here to stay.

***

“Lawrence makes every word count, telling each story with elegance and emotional punch.” — Patsy Hennessey

“Each story is masterfully constructed … Humorous, touching, creepy, but most of all entertaining, this collection is superb.” — Tracy Michelle Anderson

***

If you’re a fan of Roald Dahl or Gillian Flynn you’ll love this collection of unsettling stories with a twist in the tale. Get it now. 

I received a copy of this audiobook anthology through audiobookboom (which is amazing and everyone should check it out). I was not compensated for this review. Everything that you read is my opinion and mine alone.

I have been in the need for a mind twist for a while. What was great about this audiobook was that each story set itself apart from the rest. Each one grabbed the reader and took them on a journey. Sometimes I got the twist before it happened, but most of the time I was excited to find out I was wrong.

I’m not from South Africa, but this anthology’s setting doesn’t push the reader to know anything about the country, the cultures in the country, or the people (though now I am interested to know more than what my past World History courses have taught me). What the anthology asks of the reader is to immerse themselves into the characters, to feel and to witness what is unfolding or is about to unfold, and, most importantly, to wonder what will happen next.

The narrator, I feel, was well placed. Her voice is melodic and pulls in the reader. When she is reading an especially odd story, you can’t help but be pulled even if the story itself isn’t the best.

It is here I should mention that out of the twelve stories, I didn’t really care for two of them. But, that was just the content of the story and not the writing style or narration. It just wasn’t my cup of tea at that moment.

In all, this anthology was good. I would read more from J.T. Lawrence and am wondering what I should read next from this author.

Final Rating: 4/5

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s