Blog Tour (Review): The Union by Leah Vernon

ASIN: B09MT7Y5H2
Publisher: ‎47North (December 1, 2022)
Publication Date: ‎December 1, 2022
Language: ‎English

 

Praise for THE UNION

“A thought-provoking dystopian novel…Readers will find it easy to invest in Vernon’s complex political tale.” —Publishers Weekly

“Fans of Justina Ireland and N. K. Jemisin will appreciate the innovative world building from a Black perspective and the well-developed characters used to present serious topics such as racism and privilege.” —Booklist

From author and body-positive activist Leah Vernon comes a daring dystopian novel that explores the power of friendship in a future society built on violence and division.

A thousand years in the future, a Black elite class reigns. The lower classes toil in the fields or scrape by in blighted cities, serving their rulers in a cruel, divided world.

Among the Elites is eighteen-year-old AviJore, born to a powerful father and destined to rule. But as she comes of age, Avi cannot help but notice the injustices in her world—the treatment of enslaved workers, the oppression of the lower classes. Her disillusionment grows when she meets Saige Wilde, a mixed-race enslaved girl whose only goal is escaping beyond the borders of their brutal nation.

When Saige saves Avi from an assassination attempt, their paths become intertwined in ways they never imagined. As Saige plots her path to freedom, Avi tries to enact change from the inside. But it’s a complicated endeavor, fraught with danger and malice.

Together, their efforts could spark a revolution—and underscore the staggering power of friendship.

Publisher Note: This title was previously self-published as Impure. This edition of The Union includes substantial editorial revisions.

You can purchaseThe Union at the following Retailers:
       
I received a copy of The Union for an honest review. What follows is my opinion and mine alone. There was no compensation made for this review.
Talk about a book that hits you emotionally right off the bat. I’ll be honest; it was difficult reading at first. Not because of the writing but because of the content.
The Union is a heavy-hitting science-fiction book set many years into the future where racism and a form of forced labor thrive. No, this isn’t the antebellum south. Instead, the lighter skin you are, the more likely you will be put to work. If you are mixed or white-passing, then you are considered impure.
Vernon does not pull any punches. Right off the bat, you know what life is like for the lighter-skinned characters. It is further emphasized in the second chapter, illustrating what is happening with the higher class. You learn the racial slurs and the history of the world.
There is something about Vernon’s narrative style that makes her world seem possible, and it hits you hard. I can’t help but say that The Union deserves to be seen through other forms of media as much as a book. At times, I had to put down the book to work through my emotions. It is impactful, beautiful, and painful, and I highly recommend that every person reads this book.
For a reader who isn’t big on science fiction books, The Union is exactly the type of sci-fi I would read again and find more to discuss.
Photo Content from Leah Vernon

Leah Vernon is an international bombshell with a double masters in business and creative writing. She’s been featured in high-profile campaigns such as Ugg “Feel You” and Fitbit’s “Feel Your Power”.

She’s the first visibly plus-size Hijabi influencer to hit the mainstream with over four million views combined. She’s also an author of The Union and Unashamed: Musings of a Fat, Black Muslim.

Leah V isn’t your regular influencer; She’s a disruptor, a trendsetter, and a changemaker in her perspective fields. She began her blogging journey back in 2013, when she fell deep into disordered eating and noticed that there was no one that looked like her that was considered “worthy” or “beautiful”. And, frankly, she was tired of sucking her stomach in around her skinny friends.

With a grainy android phone and clothes from the clearance racks, she began paving her own way through the fashion industry. She used her fat, Black, and unapologetic Muslim body as a rebellion. Beauty is NOT one size fits all. She moved to New York and began smashing glass ceilings. To date, she has worked with renowned brands like Target, Dove, and Amazon just to name a few.

After years of brands telling her she had no place in the fashion world, that she was not “marketable” enough, Leah V carved her own beauty standards.

       
DECEMBER 5th MONDAY JeanBookNerd INTERVIEW
DECEMBER 6th TUESDAY Lady Hawkeye EXCERPT
DECEMBER 7th WEDNESDAY Casia’s Corner REVIEW
DECEMBER 7th WEDNESDAY Mythical Books GUEST POST
DECEMBER 8th THURSDAY Crossroad Reviews REVIEW
DECEMBER 8th THURSDAY Sadie’s Spotlight EXCERPT
DECEMBER 9th FRIDAY J.R.’s Book Reviews REVIEW
DECEMBER 10th SATURDAY Honey Can Do It REVIEW
DECEMBER 10th SATURDAY Rajiv’s Reviews REVIEW
DECEMBER 11th SUNDAY TTC Books and More REVIEW

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s